Skip to content



The HKU Musketeers Foundation Institute of Data Science (HKU IDS) has its IDS scholars as core members, alongside academic researchers from different Departments across the University.  It also extends its membership or affiliation to faculty members in the University community who are actively engaged in the Institute’s initiatives and activities.  

The Institute will also launch Fellowship Program, and external and visiting researchers through our IDS Visiting Professors Scheme and other academic exchange activities to expand its connections and faculty profile.

Advisory Committee

Professor Pieter Abbeel
Director of the Robot Learning Lab, UC Berkeley
Dr Lawrence Carin
Provost, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
Professor Laurent EI Ghaoui
Dean, College of Engineering and Computer Science, Vin University (On leave from Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), UC Berkeley
Dr Harry Shum
Founding Chairman, International Digital Economy Academy
Professor Martin Wainwright
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), UC Berkeley 

Steering Committee

Professor Max Shen (Chairman)
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Founding Director of HKU IDS
Professor Yi MA
Professor Reynold Cheng
Faculty of Engineering
Professor Guodong LI
Faculty of Science
Professor Lin Chen
Faculty of Business and Economic
Professor Benjamin Cowling
LKS Faculty of Medicine
Professor Herman Cappelen
Faculty of Arts

Leadership Team

Professor Yi MA
Professor Guodong LI
Associate Director
(Recruitment and Research)
Professor Ping LUO
Associate Director
(Innovation and outreach)